Meal Prepping for Nutrition on the Go

Have you ever gotten to work feeling as if you’re in a food desert?

Have you gone to the cafeteria only to find a sad protein void?

Have you been stressed rummaging through your drawers to find a protein bar knowing that you need more midday nutrients?

So. Have. I.

In response, I meal prep. It reduces my stress, allows me to portion-control, and provides me with a rainbow of nutrient-rich deliciousness, protein included.

meal_prepping

Here’s what’s in those yummy jars. I’ll share more as I go:

Sauce on the bottom: either Trader Joe’s (TJ’s) cilantro or spicy peanut dressing. (Changing sauces can really give you more variety in taste so you won’t get bored.)

Bean salad: diced garlic, edamame, white beans (canned is ok), carrots, red bell pepper,  slivered unsalted almonds tossed in Sriracha and TJ’s orange Muscat champagne vinegar. Substitute the edamame with red kidney beans if soy sensitive.

Protein: pan sear chicken breast sprinkled with curry blend or TJ’s 21 Seasoning Salute. I use coconut oil. I let it cool and do chunky shreds of chicken.

Oven roasted veggies: heirloom carrots, butternut squash, beets, purple onion, asparagus or green beans or baby zucchini tossed in coconut oil and balsamic vinegar. Season with everyday seasoning or 21 Seasoning Salute.

Room for greens? I like power greens, KR blend, or TJ’s Cruciferous Crunch.

They will keep for at least 7 days, and I like mine heated, but eat them cold if you’re on the go.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

